1. What is each type of multiple birth called?

The following list gives the type of multiple birth by number of babies involved in the pregnancy:


1 singleton
2 twins
3 triplets
4 quadruplets
5 quintuplets

6 sextuplets
7 septuplets
8 octuplets
9 nonuplets
10 decaplets



If you want to read recent news stories about families of higher order multiple births visit MOST's Multiples in the News webpage.

Read sample articles about multiple births.

Review a variety of statistics about multiples on our Supertwins Statistics page.

MOST also offers our book Expecting Multiples: A Comprehensive Guide covering a variety of topics related to pregnancy and delivery of higher-order multiples.

See the MOST Supertwins Library for books, packets and articles about multiple birth families

Visit the MOST Family Support Forums to connect with other families of higher order mutliples

See National Geographic's In the Womb: Multiples video and other resources.

Please Note:
MOST provides these FAQs for informational purposes and cautions visitors not to use the content below to make treatment decisions without personally consulting a qualified health care provider. Reuse of this content without proper citation is a violation of copyright. To obtain permission to use Supertwins 101 content contact MOST.


Supertwins FAQ 101 Categories

Close Window

Copyright MOST 2005      Updated 4/23/2013